thoughts spewed forth ...
New - Old - About Me - Poetry

"Monsters at Play"
Apr. 19, 2013, 11:59 p.m.

I just finished watching "Super 8", a film by J. J. Abrams. The film made me think of my brother and his best friend Mikey who would spend their summers watching horror films at the local theater and then come home play acting as those very same monsters they saw up on the screen. I always seemed to be the hapless victim of their terror. Annoying right? Back then, it was annoying but time adds a veil and softens the memory, especially now that my brother is no longer with us. If my brother were alive today I would have enjoyed watching "Super 8" along with him because I think he would have gotten a kick out of it, especially the film within the film that the kids made. My brother often played with our Mom's movie camera. "The Case" is exactly the kind of film my brother and Mikey would have made.

I really had no idea what the film "Super 8" was about when I started watching it, however it was a real treat for me as I remembered my brother and those days back when we were kids and the only thing to be afraid of were the monsters on the screen.


previous | next

recent thoughts ...

Greta's Gift - 3:25 a.m. , Aug. 24, 2019

Another Entry for Another Day - 12:52 a.m. , Apr. 10, 2016

Saturday crochet - 9:23 a.m. , Jun. 20, 2015

The Last Child Left - 9:39 p.m. , Jun. 13, 2014

Sometimes Random - 8:42 a.m. , Apr. 29, 2013


search my thoughts ...

powered by FreeFind


All graphics, images, writing, content and HTML coding on this page were created by me, except where noted. Unauthorized use prohibited. Thoughts Spewed Forth (TSF) copyright 1999-2019. TSF generously hosted by Diaryland.com