thoughts spewed forth ...
New - Old - About Me - Poetry

"I Want Gingerbread!"
November 23, 2010, 5:48 p.m.

Since my birthday was yesterday, I decided the cake I wanted was gingerbread cake, like the one served at Souper Salad�which is absolutely yummy! �After searching through all sorts of gingerbread cake and cupcake recipes on the internet, I realized that I had to limit my recipes to those using canola oil since I was out of both milk and butter. �I have some shortening, but I'm just not a fan of it. ��
I noticed that were only a few gingerbread recipes I could find which listed oil as an ingredient and one of them was the Old Fashion Gingerbread recipe on About.com. �This recipe�matched all the ingredients I had on hand. �I was inspired from reading other recipes and I decided to change this recipe somewhat to make it better according to my taste. �So I did. �Here's the recipe as I adjusted it. �
Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cointreau Glaze
Time involved:
Prep time 15 minutes
Bake time 35 minutes
Total time 50 minutes
Ingredients:
2 cups flour 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda 1 1/2 teaspoon ginger
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon salt�
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 lightly beaten egg
1/2 cup dark molasses
1/2 cup of canola oil
Glaze: 1/4 cup Cointreau
Powdered Sugar for dusting
Preparation:
  • Preheat oven to 350F degrees
  • Line a 12-cup cupcake tin with paper liners.�
  • Sift the flour and baking soda into a medium mixing bowl.�
  • Add the ginger, cinnamon, salt, sugars, egg, and molasses.�
  • Mix with a spatula until the mixture is combined and resembles wet sand.�
  • Add the oil and boiling water and whisk for about 2 minutes until the batter is smooth and shinny.�
  • Pour batter in each till about 2/3 full and tap it down gently on the table to settle it evenly.�
  • Bake for 35 minutes, until the tops spring back when lightly touched and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.�
  • While the cupcakes are warm, lightly pierce the tops a few times with a toothpick and brush a teaspoon of the Cointreau over of each of the cupcakes.�
  • Let the cupcakes cool in the pan for 10 minutes then transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely. �
Serve:� Lightly dust the cupcakes with powdered sugar.
Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cointreau Glaze
I have to say, these cupcakes turned out so very yummy!� I only glazed half of them with the Cointreau since my mother who lives with me is allergic to alcohol.� That meant I had to drink the leftover Cointreau. �(Oh Poor me!) � What surprises me most is the reaction of my cat Mickey.� He seems to be going crazy for the gingerbread, jumping up on the table and trying to get some. � My mom felt sorry for him and fed him a few crumbs and he can�t seem to get enough!� I�m not letting him have any.� I don�t think it�s good for him, but it�s good to know that my cat endorses these gingerbread cupcakes!�

Next time though, I want to make sure I have all the ingredients available to make these�and�I�m so looking forward to it!


previous | next

recent thoughts ...

Greta's Gift - 3:25 a.m. , Aug. 24, 2019

Another Entry for Another Day - 12:52 a.m. , Apr. 10, 2016

Saturday crochet - 9:23 a.m. , Jun. 20, 2015

The Last Child Left - 9:39 p.m. , Jun. 13, 2014

Sometimes Random - 8:42 a.m. , Apr. 29, 2013


search my thoughts ...

powered by FreeFind


All graphics, images, writing, content and HTML coding on this page were created by me, except where noted. Unauthorized use prohibited. Thoughts Spewed Forth (TSF) copyright 1999-2019. TSF generously hosted by Diaryland.com