thoughts spewed forth ...
New - Old - About Me - Poetry

"Beautiful Day for a Scam"
Apr. 22, 2013, 3:12 p.m.

A beautiful day today. On a side note, I received a call today from some person claiming to be from the Publisher's Clearing House congratulating me because I won $150,000. Uhm no. I know this can't be true because I have never filled out any of the sweepstakes forms from PCH. Also, give me a break but the caller was using a digital voice modication tool. I recognize the sound of those from fraudulent callers in the work that I do. So I told him this was a scam and not to call me again. He acted all so hurt and gave me his number and told me to call him back to prove that he's on the level. So what does he give me? He gives me toll free number 876-840-2977 from Jamaica! I hung up and went to the PCH website and sure enough, they have a statement on their website cautioning people not to fall for the Jamaican scammer's scheme.

What a shame. I am glad my mom did not take the call. Of course she's pretty smart, but you never know, someone else her age (86 years old) might fall for something like that.


previous | next

recent thoughts ...

Greta's Gift - 3:25 a.m. , Aug. 24, 2019

Another Entry for Another Day - 12:52 a.m. , Apr. 10, 2016

Saturday crochet - 9:23 a.m. , Jun. 20, 2015

The Last Child Left - 9:39 p.m. , Jun. 13, 2014

Sometimes Random - 8:42 a.m. , Apr. 29, 2013


search my thoughts ...

powered by FreeFind


All graphics, images, writing, content and HTML coding on this page were created by me, except where noted. Unauthorized use prohibited. Thoughts Spewed Forth (TSF) copyright 1999-2019. TSF generously hosted by Diaryland.com