thoughts spewed forth ...
New - Old - About Me - Poetry

"on and on and on"
Thursday, Sept. 14th., 10:25 pm

A few thoughts - On a few things�.

On Digital Eve �

Tuesday evening I attended my first function associated with Digital Eve (currently known was Techwomen-Houston). It�s funny, when I was a member of Webgrrls-Houston, I did nothing. I lurked on the message board and pretty much stayed to myself. Sure I was officially part of that group, but I did nothing and I posted maybe 2 times in 6 months when Jenny�s partner was a member and no one ever replied.

The interesting thing is that most of the folks from Webgrrls are now in Techwomen and it�s a whole new dynamic for me. There is another factor. Now I am more experienced and confident in my own abilities and have more to share I suppose. Still, now I think I see more of a possibility out of the stand that these women are making. It�s a whole new attitude. I�m looking forward to learning as much as I can from these intelligent and creative women.

On redesigning Le Pinceau Web Graphics �

Yikes, I�ve gotten a case of compulsion with the redesign of my site. I�ve made 12 new layouts and I cannot imagine which I want most. Instead of making 2 or 3 rough drafts, I�ve got 12 and now I can�t decide which I want. Okay, so I�m in a conundrum, but I sure had a lot of fun getting there. There�s nothing I like better than creating graphics. I could do it all day long and have been known to sit at my computer for 24 hours straight. Hey, we oughta have a marathon! I know lots of folks who are like me and spend countless sleepless hours in front of their keyboard. It would be fun!

On the Peacock Chronicles �

I�ve helped out somewhat at The Peacock Chronicles. I set up the message board and have a video review and a web review posted. Audrey�s done such a good job with her site and really had come along and picked up skills quite fast to make the site what it is since she just got online in April. Her artwork is wonderful and her sense of design in amazing. Then of course, she is an awesome writer and I�m happy to be associated with her site.

On Campaign 2000 and the bid for the presidency of the United States

Well, I had to really give it some thought. I held George W. Bush in one hand and Al Gore in the other. I had to make a decision for myself on who is the better man for that job. I chose Al Gore. I agree with most of what he stands for and I can see him leading our country effectively whether I agree with him or not. I looked at George W. and I simply don�t think he�s ready. He hasn�t done much for the state of Texas at all. He just says he has. He doesn�t think well on his feet which makes me wonder how well he thinks when he�s sitting down.

It�s not all about who is a Democrat and who is a Republican. I consider myself a fairly open-minded person and if Governor Bush were the Democrat, I wouldn�t vote for him then either. When I speak to folks in Texas who do intend to vote for the Gov, I wonder at their motivation to do so and I think it�s mostly those folks who are dedicated to the Republican Party rather than the man. Even the National Rifle Association is backing off declaring their support for the governor. Now that�s odd. What�s wrong with this picture? At any rate, I think George W. would be a hoot at a party. He reminds me of the class clown. I just don�t want the class clown to run the country.

On the daily grind at work �

Man, I�m tired. Sometimes I wish I could get rid of all the paperwork. It�s a pain trying to lead the team and be inundated by the paper all the time. I love this team of folks. I respect all of them for the contribution they make. I have a soft spot in my heart for these people because of the amazing things I continue to see them do each day. I know that some of them couldn�t care less that I feel that way and that�s okay, because it�s not about feelings. It�s about professionalism. I just wish I could do more for them. They are a hard working bunch of folks from all walks of life who come together to work toward a common goal and they come in and they do it!

My concern? These folks have the opportunity to be promoted right now. 25 positions are available. I hope they all get promoted, but I don�t think all of them will simply because almost all of them are applying for the promotion and I don�t think the office will allow our department to be depleted. Maybe I�m wrong. In any case, will we be able to rebuild the team and have it be as good as this one? I�m not so sure we can do that. I can only trust that we will have the team we were meant to have.

Lettermen comes on in 5 minutes. I�m outa here.

###


previous | next

recent thoughts ...

Greta's Gift - 3:25 a.m. , Aug. 24, 2019

Another Entry for Another Day - 12:52 a.m. , Apr. 10, 2016

Saturday crochet - 9:23 a.m. , Jun. 20, 2015

The Last Child Left - 9:39 p.m. , Jun. 13, 2014

Sometimes Random - 8:42 a.m. , Apr. 29, 2013


search my thoughts ...

powered by FreeFind


All graphics, images, writing, content and HTML coding on this page were created by me, except where noted. Unauthorized use prohibited. Thoughts Spewed Forth (TSF) copyright 1999-2019. TSF generously hosted by Diaryland.com