thoughts spewed forth ...
New - Old - About Me - Poetry

"the mighty hunter"
2000-05-12, 11:25:37

This is a poem I submitted to the Pet Poetry Contest at The Pet Vine today. Wish me luck! If I don't win, that's okay too because I had fun writing it.


For Lo, I Am The Mighty Hunter


Amidst the tall walking trees

with no bark

The monsters roam

I must hook my claws

deep into them

to stop the threat of the world

with my paws

and perhaps relish the taste of

blood,

for lo,

I am the Mighty Hunter


I am the Mighty Hunter

and master of all the land.

Tough, I am, and a killer

at heart but gracious

and merciful

to my subjects.

I save the world from all

evil.

For this I am well known.


For this I am well known,

I crouch,

I stalk,

I wiggle my butt

I freeze and tremble

then sit and lick myself,

back leg, high in the air to show all

I am not afraid, then

freeze...

tremble...

lick...

flick my ear,

wiggle,

a little twitch

of a whisker

then...

I spring!

I pounce!

And the world renounces all evil!


And the world renounces all evil

as the monster screams "No"

and then,

transformation.

I have transformed the monster

and made it my slave,

it goes

and puts water in my bowl

and scratches my head.

and I am

satisfied with myself

for lo,

I am the Mighty Hunter!


Copyright � 2000, C.Weber


previous | next

recent thoughts ...

Greta's Gift - 3:25 a.m. , Aug. 24, 2019

Another Entry for Another Day - 12:52 a.m. , Apr. 10, 2016

Saturday crochet - 9:23 a.m. , Jun. 20, 2015

The Last Child Left - 9:39 p.m. , Jun. 13, 2014

Sometimes Random - 8:42 a.m. , Apr. 29, 2013


search my thoughts ...

powered by FreeFind


All graphics, images, writing, content and HTML coding on this page were created by me, except where noted. Unauthorized use prohibited. Thoughts Spewed Forth (TSF) copyright 1999-2019. TSF generously hosted by Diaryland.com