thoughts spewed forth ...
New - Old - About Me - Poetry

"I Go In Secret - Poetica Collab - May 2001"
May 3, 2001, 10:57 p.m.

This is a Poetica Collab project for May, 2001
Topic: "Addiction"
Write a poem as an expression of an addiction you have, good or bad. The poem can be funny, tragic, long or short. The poem can be written in any manner - whether haiku, pantoum, iambic pentameter, free verse, or any format you choose. You may not however, use the word "Addiction" in any part of your poem, but you may use it in the title.

I Go In Secret

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
or find out how
utterly
low I am
with my lack
of discipline and
self will.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
that I do
what it is
I want to do
even
though I know
I should not want to
do it.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
that I am bad
and wrong
and have this
thing
that controls me
more than I
control
it.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
and give me flack
for being so
bad
when I know
that
I can stop
anytime I want.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
and think of me
with
less
respect.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
that I must go
in secret
and I know
the secret
is mine.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
but I know
they can tell
and can smell
it all over
me.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
that I take
such delight
in
this
thing.

I go in secret
lest anyone should know
but I know
they know
and frankly
I just don't
care.

So, I go in secret.

Copyright � 1999, C.Weber


previous | next

recent thoughts ...

Greta's Gift - 3:25 a.m. , Aug. 24, 2019

Another Entry for Another Day - 12:52 a.m. , Apr. 10, 2016

Saturday crochet - 9:23 a.m. , Jun. 20, 2015

The Last Child Left - 9:39 p.m. , Jun. 13, 2014

Sometimes Random - 8:42 a.m. , Apr. 29, 2013


search my thoughts ...

powered by FreeFind


All graphics, images, writing, content and HTML coding on this page were created by me, except where noted. Unauthorized use prohibited. Thoughts Spewed Forth (TSF) copyright 1999-2019. TSF generously hosted by Diaryland.com